

NEWS – OFFICE OF THE CITY COUNCIL PRESIDENT COUNCILMEMBER ALEX PADILLA 7th District



CITY HALL, 200 NORTH SPRING STREET, ROOM 465, LOS ANGELES, CA 90012 PHONE (213) 847-7777 FAX (213) 847-0707 WWW.LACITY.ORG/COUNCIL/CD7

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE July 23, 2003

CONTACT: David Gershwin Ph. (213) 473-5774

PADILLA APPOINTS CHAIRS, MEMBERS OF CITY COUNCIL COMMITTEES New Committee Structure Reflects a Growing, Changing Los Angeles

LOS ANGELES – City Council President Alex Padilla today announced the appointment of members of the City Council to fifteen standing City Council Committees and four Ad Hoc Committees. A complete list of committee appointments, including Chairs, Vice-Chairs, and Members, is attached.

"The new Los Angeles City Council has a unique opportunity to shape one of the most important cities of the 21st century," said Padilla. "I know that each and every one of my colleagues are committed to serving their constituents and the entire City of Los Angeles. The talent, knowledge, and expertise on the new Council will enable the leadership of this City to begin to tackle the most critical issues we face now and in the years to come. We are eager to roll up our sleeves and get to work on behalf of the residents, businesses, and community groups throughout Los Angeles."

On July 11, Council President Padilla introduced a resolution to form, restructure and rename select City Council committees. The restructuring and renaming was approved by the Council on July 16.

Under the City Charter, the Council President appoints the members and chairs of each City Council committee. Padilla's appointments are effective Monday, July 28, 2003.

The 7th Council District serves the communities of Lake View Terrace, Mission Hills, North Hills, Pacoima, Panorama City, and Sylmar

#

LOS ANGELES CITY COUNCIL COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS (Effective Monday, July 28, 2003)					
Committee	<u>Chair</u>	<u>Vice-Chair</u>	Member	Member	Member
Arts, Parks, Health and Aging	LaBonge	Padilla	Ludlow		
Audits and Governmental Efficiency	Greuel	Weiss	Hahn		
Budget and Finance	Parks	Miscikowski	Cardenas	Smith	Garcetti
Commerce, Energy and Natural Resources	Cardenas	Hahn	Miscikowski		
Conventions, Tourism, Entertainment Industry and Business Enterprise Committee	Ludlow	Perry	Smith		
Education and Neighborhoods	Hahn	Zine	Villaraigosa		
Environmental Quality and Waste Management	Perry	Garcetti	Padilla		
Housing, Community and Economic Development	Garcetti	Ludlow	Reyes	Padilla	Parks
Information Technology and General Services	Weiss	Parks	Garcetti		
Personnel	Zine	Villaraigosa	Greuel		
Planning and Land Use Management	Reyes	Cardenas	Weiss		
Public Safety	Miscikowski	Reyes	Parks	Zine	Weiss
Public Works	Smith	LaBonge	Perry		
Rules and Elections	Padilla	Greuel	Zine		
Transportation	Villaraigosa	Smith	LaBonge		
Ad Hoc River Committee	Reyes	Garcetti	Greuel	Perry	LaBonge
Ad Hoc Stadium Committee	Parks	Padilla	Smith	Perry	Garcetti
Ad Hoc Comm. on Business Tax Reform	Cardenas	Greuel	Smith		
Board of Referred Powers	Parks*	Reyes	Cardenas	Hahn	Miscikowski

F

1

*At the first Board of Referred Powers meeting, the Chair is elected by a majority of the members on the Board.